Star Formation in Verse

The subject I address today
Is that of star formation.
And what we’ve found out recently
About the situation.

Stars start out as clouds of gas and
Dust and bits of spinning stuff.
Collapsing gravitationally
Until they’re dense enough.

While reading this link I was one of those annoying people who read half a line at a time out loud and fall into giggles. You should become one too

A Protostar - from The Detection of Shocked Co/ Emission from G333.6-0.2 (Storey; 1984)

A Protostar – from The Detection of Shocked Co/ Emission from G333.6-0.2 (Storey; 1984)

The original copy of the reason for my laughter is here. A paper written entirely as a poem describing “The Detection of Shocked Co/ Emission from G333.6-0.2” from a 1984 edition of “The Proceedings of the Astronomical Society for Australia”.

I love the inventiveness of the poem and how the actual scientific results were fit in. I love the idea of a room full of astrophysicists laughing as it was first read out loud in public. I love that I feel like I know the author because I can feel their personality coming through.

My favourite verse is below:

So, most of what we know of this
Comes from the infrared —
That bit of spectrum in the middle
That decent people dread

I was sent this link on Twitter by @mdcearns, but it is on a website I’ve visited before. Brain Pickings is full of funny and interesting articles but easily my favourite is number three in this list of Five Manifestos For The Creative Life. The Holstee Manifesto (photo below) has been framed and on my wall for the last year. It makes me smile every single time I read it.

The Holstee Manifesto

The Holstee Manifesto

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

