Preparing For Research: Summer Reading

The papers for summer reading I have printed out so far!

The papers for summer reading I have printed out so far!

Earlier this week I emailed my (future) supervisor and asked for a few things to read over the summer, so I can get up to speed on relevant topics before I start. She was incredibly helpful in her reply and has suggested a more than ‘a few’! I’m looking forward to getting stuck into them, and to be honest it’s lovely to have something productive to focus on in the evenings after work.

This post is a list of the books and papers she suggested.

 

Introductions to AGN:

An Introduction to Active Galactic Nuclei; Bradley M. Peterson; 1997; Cambridge University Press

Active Galactic Nuclei: From the Central Black Hole to the Galactic Environment; Julian Krolik; 1999; Princeton University Press

One of my friends thinks she may have one (or even both) of these books so I’m waiting to hear from her before I try and find them in a library somewhere.

 

The consortium I will be part of has recently undertaken a multi-wavelength study of a particular Seyfert 1 galaxy called Mrk 509. A second multi-wavelength study is collecting data as I type (on another Seyfert 1 galaxy known as NGC5548), and I will be helping to analyse the results. Due to the similarities of these studies my supervisor also suggested that I read some of the papers where the Mrk 509 results are published:

Multiwavelength campaign on Mrk 509. I. Variability and spectral energy distribution; Kaastra et al; 2011; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 534

Multiwavelength campaign on Mrk 509. III. The 600 ks RGS spectrum: unravelling the inner region of an AGN; Detmers et al; 2011; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 534

Multiwavelength campaign on Mrk 509. IV. Optical-UV-X-ray variability and the nature of the soft X-ray excess; Mehdipour et al; 2011; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 534 (Mehdipour is my supervisor’s previous PhD student, who completed his PhD this year)

Multiwavelength campaign on Mrk 509. VIII. Location of the X-ray absorber; Kaastra et al; 2011; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 539

Multiwavelength campaign on Mrk 509. XI. Reverberation of the Fe Kα line; Ponti et al; 2013; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 549

 

She also suggested getting acquainted with galaxy NGC5548, as I will be analysing data from it to begin with, starting with this paper:

X-ray absorption lines in the Seyfert 1 galaxy NGC 5548 discovered with Chandra-LETGS; Kaastra et al; 2000; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 354

 

And finally to learn about the Reflection Grating Spectrometer on XMM-Newton by reading the inventively titled:

The Reflection Grating Spectrometer on board XMM-Newton; den Herder et al; 2001; Astronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 365

I think this will keep me all very busy!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

